What a great trip!

In between sitting outside and soaking up the warm sun we went to classes, met with other retailers, brainstormed, and shopped the trade show floor.  It is hard for me to even re-cap the highlights there were so many. 

I enjoyed the class I took on “colorwork knitting” from Jared Flood.  He was a great teacher, and discussed many aspects of knitting and yarn  beyond the scope of the class.  I hope to be able to bring some of that knowledge to the store. 

We went to the “sample it” event where some retailers were selling their new, noteworthy items for us to buy and check out.  I have a table at the store with some of the items we would like to try, and have your input on.  Items of note:  Namaste bag (new style), Kollage square needles, Lornas Shepherd chunky / Toy kit, Offhand Designs knitting bag, Knit Kit, Shibui Stocatto (merino/silk), Schaefer’s new Audrey (merino/silk), Mountain Colors new sock yarn, Jaggerspun merino/silk in 570 yd balls and more!

One of the great things  for us was spending this time together to collaborate.  We spent a lot of time brainstorming for the store reatreat, and other events for the store.

Shopping the trade show floor was overwhelming!  There was so much to see, and absorb.  We came back with a lot of ideas and info.  We even did a little buying for the store.  I thought Pat was going to burst not being able to buy and take with her.  She finally did satisfy that urge at the Colonial Needle booth.  She bought an interchangeable needle kit out of the rosewood.   I know she took it to Denver with her.  I am anxious to see how she likes them.

Well, there’s at least a start of a recap of our trip.

12 responses to “What a great trip!

  1. WOW to be able to take a class from Jared Flood
    what a treat
    Can’t wait to see all of the goodies and see what I can not live without

  2. for me, let’s see – sun, palm trees, a good friend – it all equals a terrific trip. my class on yarn 101 was very informative. i also enjoyed the two-color double-knitting class. it was hard for me to get my fingers adjusted but i think i finally got it. then there was the crayon box jacket…..

    and yes, i do have my new interchangable needles with me but i haven’t tried them yet.

  3. I have some of the square needles I bought at stitches last year. Love ’em. I am intrigued by the Knit Kit. I’ve been seeing it in ads and am looking for an excuse to head up your way. Looks like I have one.

    • Elayne – just a word of note. We do not have the Knit Kit in to sell as of yet. What we do have is a sample to see if we like it, can endorse it, etc… Please come up and touch and test for yourself. We would love your input.

  4. Sounds like a wonderful trip! How I wish I could stop by the store and check out the samples.

    As for the Kollage Squares. . . they have almost as good of customer service as BHY and I do like the feel of square needle. BUT if you are trying to make socks on two circulars or magic loop the cord is so flexible that it bends in half as you try to slide the stitches back onto your needle to do the next section. Mark had suggestions of supergluing the join, and pulling on the cord instead of the needle and it helps but it does not make the needles an enjoyable knit. If someone likes to use DPNs instead of two circs, I would recommend the square shape as it is easier on the hand. Mark promises firmer cables in the future on the circulars to solve this problem so I am waiting for those to come out to add to my sock knitting needle stash.

  5. i found the same thing, carri. i could not knit with the circulars – very annoying.

  6. i certainly want a monroe bag. just have to decide what color. i’m thinking lime or peacock.
    the wednesday sweater pattern caught my eye too. it is so charming. if only i knew of a baby girl….and no pat, i won’t be knitting it for elliegh.

    i’m knitting a pair of socks right now on the kollage square double points. you all know i’m a big fan of knitting socks on two circular needles. but the last time i made a pair of socks using twisted stitches, i developed a pretty severe pain in my right hand. (i may have arthritis.) i heard the square needles were helpful in this regard, so i ordered a pair. i’ll likely order some size zeros and size twos if you decide to carry them.

  7. Yep, I’m with Dana, if I could stand to knit socks on DPN I would order the squares. The time I worked with them my hands appreciated the shape, I just hated the cords.

  8. Okay, I just looked at the Namaste website at the Monroe bag. . . .if I order one will I look that skinny and sultry???? If so, order me two!!!!

  9. FYI: MY By Hand Grapes is gorgeous!!!!!

  10. The trip sounds great! I will need to order the DPN square, let me know if you are going to carry them and I will make an order. I also wanted to say it was so nice coming to BHY on my visit out to California for the holidays. It was great to see everyone at BHY. I will come up to the shop when I come back in June.

  11. Likewise, it was great to see you too! The holidays were so fun at the store. We got to see many old friends.

    We will be ordering the square needles next week. Email me your order!

Leave a comment